Chef K · Uncategorized

Cheese Stuffed Chicken

Guys. I am far from a pro chef, but you better believe I try. I am all about easy meals that make me look like I know what I’m doing. One of my favorite cookbooks is “What to Cook and How to Cook it”. This stuffed chicken recipe comes from that book with a few tweaks of my own (I hate tomatoes…). Warning: I don’t always (hardly ever) actually measure things out. I guesstimate which is why I do not bake much. Anyways…

This took me about 35-40 minutes total to prep and cook and it only took one dutch oven for everything. I made enough for 4 servings so we can have it for lunch the next day as well.

What you’ll need:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 8 slices bacon
  • 1-2 each of zucchini and squash
  • some form of soft cheese (prepackaged, goat cheese, any other soft cheese)
  • 2T sunflower oil
  • 4 sprigs rosemary
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • dutch oven

No-Fun Prep work:

  • preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • slice squash and zucchini

fullsizerender

I used an herb soft cheese that comes in a handy dandy package at the store. I then cut little slits into 4 chicken breasts and stuffed as much cheese as possible into that bad boy. My motto is if you aren’t a messy cook then the food won’t be as tasty. I then put approximately two rosemary sprigs on it and salt and pepper.

I then took 8 slices of bacon and wrapped them around the cheesy stuffed chicken. Wrap them up tight so they’ll hold the cheese in there. At this point my fingers were so messy I couldn’t take a picture, sorry.

fullsizerender-1

I then used this super fancy sunflower oil with garlic and herbs in my super fancy preseasoned dutch oven. You can use vegetable oil, but you should NEVER USE VEGETABLE OIL-NEVER EVER! It is so terrible for you and there are many better options for high temperatures like sunflower, sesame, almond, grapeseed, and avocado oil. So you put a couple tablespoons in the dutch oven on high temperature and let that stuff heat up. Then throw the bacon-wrapper-cheese-stuffed chicken in and let it brown on each side, about 2 minutes each side.

fullsizerender-2

Remove from heat and put the sliced squash and zucchini around/on top of the chicken and put 1 clove or 1/4 tablespoon if you used the pre-minced can like I do. Add more salt, pepper, and rosemary. I then stuck the dutch oven full of goodness into the 400 degree preheated oven and let it cook for 25 minutes.

fullsizerender-3

I served it with a lemon and olive oil salad (1/2 lemon juice, 1/2 T of olive oil, salt and pepper to taste), sweet potatoes with coconut oil and cinnamon, and homemade strawberry lemonade. BOOM DONE.

Feel free to make any changes you want! Let me know how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

