Uncategorized

Grubb for Hubbs

This past week I went to Lubbock to visit some friends and the hubbs was left at the house by himself. A few days before I left, I asked him what he was going to cook while I was gone. He responded “I will probably just eat out…”. uh….wut? I then realized hubbs has never really lived anywhere where he has had to cook! He went straight from his parents house to West Point where they lived in dorms all four years and ate in the mess hall. He then went to an apartment with three other boys who had also been non-cookers and worked late, so they out all the time. Then he went to Korea where they ate at a mess hall again, then straight in with me where I cook all the time. That is a lot of time to not cook at all. I absolutely cannot allow him to eat out every meal, so I did the unthinkable-I spoiled him. I prepped all of his meals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He eats his breakfast at work after their morning workouts, so I packed his breakfast and lunch for him to take each day. I went simple (to make it easier on myself) and he had the same thing to eat for the three days. Breakfast was greek yogurt with a little bit of honey and blueberries. For lunch I made a cold pasta salad with chicken and beans. He also got a sweet potato with coconut oil and cinnamon on it and grapes.These were pretty simple to make. The pasta salad was simply cooked and cooled pasta, baked chicken, corn, black beans, cilantro, olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. The sweet potatoes can be eaten after a quick zap in the microwave.

Dinner time. I knew Jason would need minimal work but tasty food. I made parchment meals for two of the nights. They were super simple and minimal work for both the prepper and the eater. Night one was sliced potatoes sprinkled with salt and pepper on the bottom with chicken and BBQ sauce. Night two was asparagus with chicken and potatoes and a greek seasoning on top. Both of these are rolled up into the parchment and can be kept in the fridge until its time to cook them. When ready to cook, simply put them in a preheated oven at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. I had bought some steamable bag veggies for him to zap in the microwave to go with these meals. Jason said they were all delicious and easy.

The last night I put together a crock pot recipe that waited in the fridge until game time. I played off of The Pioneer Woman’s Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork. Ingredients are simple enough: pork shoulder, Dr. Pepper, chipotle peppers, brown sugar, and onions. Jason put the crock pot on the low 8-hour setting and the pork literally fell off the bone while cooking. It was very tasty, although I would have preferred a little more seasoning.

What meal preps do you all do for when there is not enough time at night or you don’t have time to prep?

Leave a Reply

